Manchester City

Based in the city of Manchester in northwestern England, Manchester City FC is one of the most popular and successful English football (association football) clubs. Nicknamed the Citizens, the club is also known as the Sky Blues for the color of its home uniforms. Many fans call the team "Man City," or simply "City." The team has won the English top-division league championship 10 times and the Football Association (FA) Cup seven times.

The club was founded in 1880 by members of St. Mark's Church in Manchester.

In 2003 Manchester City moved to the 48,000-seat City of Manchester Stadium (known as Etihad Stadium from 2011). Thaksin Shinawatra, the former prime minister of Thailand, purchased the club in 2007. He sold it the following year to the Abu Dhabi United Group, an investment company based in the United Arab Emirates. The new owners guickly signed a number of highly regarded international players. Among them were Robinho, a Brazilian striker from the powerhouse Spanish team Real Madrid, and Belgian central defender Vincent Kompany. The signings paid off as Manchester City soon embarked on its most successful period. The club again won the FA Cup in 2011, 2019, and 2023. It took the League Cup in 2014, 2016, 2018, 2019, and 2020. The club also won English Premier League titles in 2011-12, 2013-14, 2017-18, 2018-19, 2020-21, 2021-22, 2022-23, and 2023–24. Manchester City notably amassed 100 points in 2017–18, setting a Premier League record for most points in a single season. Its run of consecutive titles between the 2020–21 and 2023–24 seasons made it the first team to claim the Premier League crown four years in a row. The club captured its first Champions League (the European club championship) title with a 1–0 victory over Inter Milan in June 2023.

Many standout players have performed with Manchester City during the club's long history.

Top players for the club in the early 21st century included Shaun Wright-Phillips, Robinho, David Silva, Sergio Aguero, Yaya Touré, Kevin De Bruyne, and Erling Haaland. Kompany served as captain of the squad from 2011 to 2019. De Bruyne was twice named the Premier League's player of the season, in 2019–20 and 2021–22. Haaland was the league's top scorer in 2022–23 and 2023–24.

Englisch